Synthesis and Characterization


Head of Department:
Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h. c. Heinrich Iro


The aim of our department is the development of new nanoparticular systems for drug delivery, hyperthermia, and imaging. The discovery of biocompatible and highly efficient carrier systems with the aim of their translation into clinical practice is the center of our attention. All of our syntheses are based on precipitation reactions in alkaline media with which we produce magnetic nanoparticles. These particles can afterwards be coated with various substances and loaded with drugs. The latter can be done by either adsorption or chemical bonding. To categorize the respective effects of the particles in vivo – be they wanted or unwanted – they have to be thoroughly analyzed for their physicochemical structure and shape. The size of the aggregates is a crucial parameter here, one we can analyze by Dynamic Light Scattering. The morphology and size of the single particles can be examined with Transmission Electron Microscopy (TEM). The electrostatic potential of particles in a shear plane –the Zeta potential- is an important parameter for the colloidal stability, and is also investigated. The content of drugs and other moieties is quantified by HPLC/UV-MS. The particle surface is analyzed by FTIR, a method with which the chemical bonding situation on the surface can be investigated. This contributes significantly to the success of the specific tailoring of particle surfaces. In cooperation with our partner, the pharmacy of the university hospital, we also operate a fully functional GMP unit for the quality-controlled synthesis of nanoparticles with a clinical approach.

Leadership and Contact




Publications can be reviewed on PubMed.

Cooperation Partners

Prof. Dr. Peter Wasserscheid
University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Institute for Chemical Reaction Engineering

Prof. Dr. -Ing. habil. Aldo R. Boccaccini
University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Institute for Biomaterials

Prof. Dr. med. Hans Drexler
Prof. Dr. med. Simone Schmitz-Spanke
University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Department of Occupationsl Medicine

Prof. Dr. Lutz Trahms
Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt Berlin, Department 8.2 (Biosignals)

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. habil. Stefan Odenbach
Chair of Magnetofluiddy­namics, Measurement and Automation Technology

Dr. phil.nat. Frank Dörje                                                                             University Hospital of Erlangen, Pharmacy

Dr. Rodica Turcu                                                                                         National Institute R&D for Isotopic and Molecular Technologies, Cluj-Napoca, Romania

Dr. L. Vekas                                                                                                     Lab. Magnetic Fluids, Center for Fundamental and Advanced Technical Research Romanian Academy-Timisoara Branch, Romania

Prof. Dr. Etelka Tombacz      
Department of Physical Chemistry and Materials Science, Aqueous Colloids Research Group), University of Szeged, Hungary


Bayerische Forschungsförderung
für intelligente Datenvernetzung

Förderbescheidübergabe mit
Staatsministerin Ilse Aigner

Ein Roboter für die Nanomedizin
60.000 € Spende von der

DFG fördert 15 neue

SEON an SFB/Transregio "BioFab"

Donations account

Forschungsstiftung Medizin at the Universitätsklinikum Erlangen

Sparkasse Erlangen
IBAN: DE 69 76350000 0000062000
Intended use:
Nanomedizin Prof. Alexiou

Text TÜV Süd auf weißem Grund umgeben von achteckigen blauen Ring in dem in weißer Schrift ISO 9001 steht
Please insert your name and correct email addresses!
X zum Schließen